Reviewed by on    Arts News  

Photo, Barb Gray.   Best design (Professional) by James Lavoie for The Financier. Winner of the new Cube Gallery award.



Photo Kathi Langston THE CRITICS!!!


OTTAWA, November 17, 2014 – The Capital Critics Circle today announced the winners of the fifteenth annual theatre awards for plays presented in English in the National Capital Region during the 2013-2014 season. The winners are:


Ian Farthing  wins the Audrey Ashley award for excellence in his field. His work with the Saint Lawrence Shakespeare Festival opened up a professional Shakespeare Festivalfor all the actors in the area and opened new posibilities for theatre in the area…

Tim Oberholzer  won  the CCC special award for his performance as Hedwig ……in Hedwig and the  Angry Inch


Photo: Nicole Milne, Cast of Glengarry Glen Ross.

Best professional production:The Avalon Studio’s production of Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet, directed by Geoff Gruson.

Best community theatre production:The Orpheus Musical Theatre Society’s production of Monty Python’s Spamalot, book and lyrics by Eric Idle, music by John Du Prez and Eric Idle, directed by Bob Lackey, musical direction by Terry Duncan, choreography by Christa Cullain.

Best director (professional):Ron Jenkins for Enron by Lucy Prebble, National Arts Centre English Theatre.

Best director (community):

Cindy Beaton for Legally Blonde, The Musical, music and lyrics by Laurence O’Keefe and Nell Benjamin, book by Heather Hach, Based on the novel by Amanda Brown and the MGM movie, Orpheus Musical Theatre Society.

Best actor (professional):

Paul Rainville as Stan in The Burden of Self Awareness by George F. Walker, directed by Arthur Milner, GCTC.

Best actress (professional):

Kate Hurman as Angela in My Brilliant Divorce by Geraldine Aron, directed by John P. Kelly, SevenThirty Productions/Pat Moylan co-pro.

Best actor (community):

Dennis Van Staalduinen as Lancelot et al in Monty Python’s Spamalot, Orpheus Musical Theatre.

Best actress (community):

Emily Walsh as Agnes in Agnes of God by John Pielmeier, directed by Tom Kobolak, Kanata Theatre.

The Cube Gallery has added a major new award for artwork and design, which includes the display of maquettes and photographs by the winners. The winners are:

Best design (professional):

James Lavoie for the set and costumes for The Financier by Alain-René Lesage, translated by Joanne Miller and Laurie Steven, Odyssey Theatre.

Best design (community):

Tom Pidgeon for the set of Touch and Go by Derek Benfield, Ottawa Little Theatre.

Best work on a student production:

Zach Counsil for the direction and special effects of Frankenstein: The Man Who Became God by Alden Nowlan and Walter Learning, Algonquin College Theatre Arts

Special jury award:

Tim Oberholzer for his multi-faceted performance in the title role of Hedwig and the Angry Inch book by John Cameron Mitchell, music and lyrics by Stephen Trask, directed by Stewart Matthews, Vanity Project.

The Audrey Ashley Award goes to Ian Farthing for the excellence of his continuing contribution to theatre through the St. Lawrence Shakespeare Festival.

The Audrey Ashley Award is named for the late Audrey Ashley, the Ottawa Citizen’s longest serving theatre reviewer, and sponsored by theatre producer Barbara Crook, a former theatre critic at the Ottawa Citizen and the Vancouver Sun.

Winners receive cash awards or equivalents, plaques and commemorative certificates.

The CCC instituted the awards in 2000 to honour the best in theatre on stages in the National Capital Region. The members of the selection committee for the 2013-2014 season English theatre awards were: Kat Fournier, Barbara Gray, Patrick Langston, Connie Meng, Jamie Portman, Alvina Ruprecht, Maja Stefanovska, Rajka Stefanovska and Iris Winston

The 2014 CCC awards are sponsored by Barbara Crook Greenberg, Alan Dean Photography, Nick Wojtas Photography, Coyle Publishing, The Cube Gallery, L-D Tool & Die, and OYP Theatre School. The National Arts Centre is hosting the 2013-2014 awards.


For further information, see the Capital Critics Circle website at

or contact:

Iris Winston

Telephone: 613 256-4747