Reviewed by on    Capital Critics Circle Awards  

Capital Critics Circle announces sixteenth annual theatre awards and adds Tartan award for technical excellence

OTTAWA, November 23, 2015 – The Capital Critics Circle today announced the winners of the sixteenth annual theatre awards for plays presented in English in the National Capital Region during the 2014-2015 season. The winners are:

Best professional production:

Stuff Happens by David Hare, directed by David Ferry, National Arts Centre English Theatre.

Best community theatre production:

Avenue Q, book by Jeff Whitty, music and lyrics by Robert Lopez and Jeff Mark, directed by Michael Gareau, musical direction by John McGovern, choreography by Alison Szkwarek, Toto Too Theatre.

Best director (professional):

John P. Kelly for The School for Wives, by Molière, Plosive/SevenThirty co-production.

Best director (community):

Barbara Kobolak The Dining Room by A.R. Gurney, Kanata Theatre.

Best actor (professional):

Andy Massingham as Kyle in The Best Brothers by Daniel MacIvor, directed by Eric Coates, the Great Canadian Theatre Company.

Best actress (professional):

Margo MacDonald in her one-woman show The Elephant Girls, directed by Mary Ellis, Parry Riposte Productions, Ottawa Fringe.

Best actor (community):

Shaun Toohey as Alan Turing in Breaking the Code by Hugh Whitemore, directed by Klaas van Weringh, Ottawa Little Theatre.

Best actress (community):

Iyono Ede as Gary Coleman in Avenue Q.

Best design (professional):

John Doucet for the set of Pomme and ‘Restes: Shipwrecked! On the Tempestuous Lost Island of Never by AL Connors, Scott Florence and Margo MacDonald, directed by AL Connors, A Company of Fools and the Great Canadian Theatre Company co-production.

Tartan Award (professional):

Jamie Nesbitt, for the sound and video for Stuff Happens.

Best design (community):

Karl Wagner for the set and lighting of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Robert Louis Stevenson’s novella The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, directed by Wendy Wagner, Kanata Theatre.

Tartan Award (community)

Debbie Guilbeault for her choreography for Fiddler on the Roof, book by Joseph Stein, music by Jerry Bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, directed by Michael Gareau, musical director Marylen Milenkovic, Orpheus Musical Theatre Society.

The Cube Gallery award for artwork and design includes the display of maquettes and photographs by the winners. The Tartan Award from Tartan Homes is for technical excellence in any area.

Special jury award:

David Whiteman for best new play—The Lights of Shangri-La, Toto Too Theatre.

Special jury award (student):

Miriam Cusson for her direction of Viol at the University of Ottawa.

The Audrey Ashley Award goes to Michael Gareau for the excellence of his direction and continuing contribution to theatre for over 40 years.

The Audrey Ashley Award is named for the late Audrey Ashley, the Ottawa Citizen’s longest serving theatre reviewer, and sponsored by theatre producer Barbara Crook, a former theatre critic at the Ottawa Citizen and the Vancouver Sun.

Winners receive cash awards or equivalents, plaques and commemorative certificates.

The CCC instituted the awards in 2000 to honour the best in theatre on stages in the National Capital Region. The members of the selection committee for the 2014-2015 season English theatre awards were: Kat Fournier, Barbara Gray, Patrick Langston, Connie Meng, Jamie Portman, Alvina Ruprecht, Maja Stefanovska, Rajka Stefanovska and Iris Winston.

The 2015 CCC awards are sponsored by Barbara Crook Greenberg, Alan Dean Photography, Nicholas Wojtas Photography, Coyle Publishing, The Cube Gallery, Executive Fitness Leaders, Tartan Homes and, L-D Tool & Die. The National Arts Centre is hosting the 2014-2015 awards.


For further information, see the Capital Critics Circle website at

or contact:

Iris Winston

Telephone: 613 256-4747