Reviewed by on    Capital Critics Circle Awards  

OTTAWA, October 23, 2013 – The Capital Critics Circle today announced the nominees for the fourteenth annual English-language theatre awards for plays presented in the National Capital Region during the 2012-2013 season. The Circle has expanded this year’s list to include an award for the best student production.

The nominees are:

Best professional production:

Fly Me to the Moon by Marie Jones, directed by John P. Kelly, Great Canadian Theatre Company.

God of Carnage by Yasmina Reza, directed by Ross Manson, Third Wall Theatre.

Hamlet by William Shakespeare, adapted and directed by Rona Waddington, St. Lawrence Shakespearean Festival (Prescott).

November by David Mamet, directed by John P. Kelly, SevenThirty Productions.


Best community theatre production:

Mr. Pim Passes By by A.A. Milne, directed by Joe O’Brien, Ottawa Little Theatre.

Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire, directed by Brooke Keneford, Kanata Theatre.

Steel Magnolias by Robert Harling, directed by Tom Taylor, Ottawa Little Theatre.

The Drowsy Chaperone book by Bob Martin and Don McKellar, music and lyrics by Lisa Lambert and Greg Morrison, directed by Michael Gareau, Orpheus Musical Theatre Society.


Best student production

Princess Ivona by Witold Gombrowicz, directed by Ekaterina Shestakova, University of Ottawa, Masters in Directing program.

The Farm Show, a collective creation by Theatre Passe Muraille directed by Andy Massingham, Ottawa Theatre School.

The Laramie Project by Moises Kaufman and Tectoni Theatre project, directed by Teri Loretto-Valentik, Algonquin College Theatre Arts program.


Best director (professional):

John P. Kelly for November.

Ross Manson for God of Carnage.

Richard Rose for No Great Mischief by David S. Young (adaptation of Alistair MacLeod’s novel), Thousand Islands Playhouse (Gananoque).

Rona Waddington for Hamlet.



Best director (community):

Joan Sullivan Eady for All My Sons by Arthur Miller, Ottawa Little Theatre.

Michael Gareau for The Drowsy Chaperone, Orpheus Musical Theatre Society.

Jim Holmes for A Flea in her Ear by Georges Feydeau, translated/adapted by David Ives, Kanata Theatre.

Brooke Keneford for Rabbit Hole, Kanata Theatre.


Best actor: (professional)

Todd Duckworth as the President in November.

Peter Froehlich as Sam in Like Wolves by Rosa Laborde, Great Canadian Theatre Company.

Paul Rainville as Ernie, the father, in The Secret Mask by Rick Chafe, Great Canadian Theatre Company.

R.H. Thomson as Alexander in No Great Mischief.



Best actress (professional)

Mary Ellis as Frances in Fly Me to the Moon.

Jackie Richardson in the title role in Big Mama! The Willie Mae Thornton Story by Audrei-Kairen, A Belfry Theatre (Victoria) production at the National Arts Centre, directed by John Cooper with musical direction by Tim Williams.

Alex Sideris as Gertrude in Hamlet.




Best actor: (community)

Laurie Dickson as Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof, book by Joseph Stein, music by Jerry bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, Suzart Productions.

Tim Mabey as the father in Rabbit Hole.

Dale MacEachern for his dual role as Victor Chandebise and Poche in A Flea in her Ear.

Kenny Hayes  as Camille  in A Flea in her Ear.

Wayne Nolan as Man in Chair in The Drowsy Chaperone.



Best actress (community)

Cheryl Jackson as Kate in All My Sons.

Emily Walsh as Mary in Mary’s Wedding by Stephen Massicotte, directed by Wendy Wagner, Kanata Theatre.

Linda Webster as M’Lynn in Steel Magnolias.

Dianna Renee Yorke as Judith Bliss in Hay Fever by Noel Coward, directed by Tim Ginley, Ottawa Little Theatre.


Best design (professional):

Bretta Gerecke for the set and costumes of Metamorphoses, written and originally directed by Mary Zimmerman, directed by Jillian Keiley.

Graeme Thomson for the lighting design of No Great Mischief.

John Webber (lighting) and Jamie Griffiths (projection) for the design of The Edward Curtis Project, written and directed by Marie Clements, a co-production of the National Arts Centre, Great Canadian Theatre Company, in association with Red Diva Projects.


Best design (community):

Mike Heffernan for the set of Deathtrap by Ira Levin, Ottawa Little Theatre.

Elaine McCausland for the set of Fiddler of the Roof.

Tom Pidgeon for the set of All My Sons.


The Audrey Ashley Award for a body of work will be announced on Monday, December 2 at the awards ceremony, to be held in the Salon at the National Arts Centre from 7 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Winners will receive awards, plaques and commemorative certificates.

The CCC instituted the awards in 2000 to honour the best in theatre on stages in the National Capital Region. The members of the selection committee for the 2012-2013 season English theatre awards were: Alvina Ruprecht, Patrick Langston, Jamie Portman, Connie Meng, Barbara Gray, Maja Stefanovska, Rajka Stefanovska and Iris Winston. The CCC is affiliated with the Canadian Theatre Critics Association and the International Association of Theatre Critics.

The 2013 CCC awards are sponsored by Barbara Crook Greenberg, Jim Robertson, Alan Dean Photography, Nick Wojtas Photography, Coyle Publishing, The Ottawa Citizen, L-D Tool & Die, and OYP Theatre School. The National Arts Centre is hosting the 2012-2013 awards.


For further information, see the Capital Critics Circle website at

or contact:

Iris Winston

Telephone: 613 256-4747